I’ve been meaning to share what I know about Authorized User (AU) cards for some time. Now is as good a time as any, and this is as good a place as any to share it. What makes a good AU card? When someone uses the term “well-chosen AU card”, what do they mean? Are some cards better than others? Are they talking about a high credit limit? Or a long-opened CC account? Does utilization matter? Are some credit card companies simply better at it than others? Well, I’m here to tell you…the answers to those questions are pretty clear. If it matters to the reader, I’ve been creating AU cards for family and friends for more than 20 years. I personally believe AU cards can be quite valuable for someone just starting out on their credit journey, and for those with damaged credit as well. To put it bluntly, there’s a reason people pay companies $300-1000 a month for AU cards: it’s because they can change a credit score for the better within weeks. I’m not saying an 18 year old kid with a 780 fico 8 due to AU cards is going to qualify for an auto loan, but a high fico score has measurable benefits: lower interest rates, increased credit approval odds, and a foot in the door. Those things have value. Rather than drag it out any longer…here’s what makes a good AU card: For maximum fico 8 scores, the card must have been opened for more than 1 year. That’s all it takes. One year. One year or 10 years? It doesn’t matter. One year or one month? It matters. I know this flies in the face of conventional wisdom, but I’ve tested it. Recently. It literally doesn’t matter at all as long as the card has been opened for at least a year. Less than a year and you’re probably going to see a penalty. Presumably the AoYRA<12 months penalty. For maximum fico 8 scores, the AU card credit limit does not matter. For example, whether the AU card credit limit is $2500 or more than 20 times that amount, a person with nothing in their credit reports could expect to see a fico 8 of around 750 when the AU c